An update, long overdue.

TO my dear friends in Seattle, Washington – the Washington that comes first in my heart:

Hello. It’s a beautiful Fall weekend here on the East Coast. The air is crisp. The sun is so bright. The trees are bursting into colors, and leaves are covering the sidewalks. I wish you could be here.

It has been too long since I have written to you. That’s all I can say. And because it’s been so long since I’ve used this blog, it only makes what I’m about to write all the more difficult.

I miss home. I miss my family. I miss Seattle. I miss all of you.

But I’m staying in Washington, D.C., next semester.

Please don’t be angry at me. Please be excited with me.

Let me preface this by saying: There’s just no way to explain this artfully. I waited too long, and now it seems like I’ve been hiding it. That wasn’t the original idea.

Back in September, my friend from high school, Kenneth, who was also in D.C. this summer, had a conversation about how great it would be if I could stay in D.C. for an entire year. That conversation planted an idea in my mind, and it just so happened that an opportunity to stay presented itself in the form of American Studies Program (If you don’t remember, ASP is BestSemester’s D.C. politics program…and I just happen to be a political science major as well…I kind of forget that sometimes, too).

I didn’t expect that it would ever work out back at SPU. After all, it’s my senior year; I have graduation requirements; I have a massive research project; I’m supposed to graduate in June. And yet, it did work out.

So I prayed. I applied. I was was accepted.

And that was the beginning of a very hard choice. Trust me. I was forced to choose between two places that I really love. My entire life is back in Seattle, but D.C. presents career experience. My school career is back in Seattle, but D.C. is an education of a different sort. In ASP, I’ll get even more Capitol Hill experience, and I’ll get another chance to intern here in the city. While I won’t get to stay at the Post (heartbreak of the century), I have a feeling that I’ll be able to make connections wherever I end up. I’m even thinking about a Congressional internship. I can do anything, really.

But let me assuage any worries: I’m still coming home on December 10, and I’ll be in the Seattle area until January 19, when I’ll fly back to D.C. for the spring semester. My semester will end on May 5, and then I’ll come back to Seattle. I’ll finish my honors project. I’ll graduate in June.

And after that? I guess it’s up to God. But he’s been pretty faithful so far. I can’t wait to see what’s next.

2 thoughts on “An update, long overdue.

What do you think?

