Words that are good.

I haven’t written in a while, because it has been a very hard month. I have some words of my own to share, and I will post those soon. For now, I want to share some words that I didn’t write.

I have collected quotes over the years since high school, and I keep quotes from wherever I find them. Aided by a voracious appetite for reading and the good invention of the copy-&-paste function, I have accrued a rather extensive collection of words that are not my own. 

Here are some good words.

“I saw my life branching out before me like the green fig tree in the story. From the tip of every branch, like a fat purple fig, a wonderful future beckoned and winked. One fig was a husband and a happy home and children, and another fig was a famous poet and another fig was a brilliant professor, and another fig was the amazing editor, … and beyond and above these figs were many more figs I couldn’t quite make out. I saw myself sitting in the crotch of this fig tree, starving to death, just because I couldn’t make up my mind which of the figs I would choose. I wanted each and every one of them, but choosing one meant losing all the rest, and, as I sat there, unable to decide, the figs began to wrinkle and go black, and, one by one, they plopped to the ground at my feet.” [The Bell Jar]

“Faith never knows where it is being led, but it loves and knows the one who is leading.” [Oswald Chambers]

“‘Well, why don’t you go to Mecca now?’ asked the boy.
‘Because it’s the thought of Mecca that keeps me alive. That’s what helps me face these days that are all the same … I’m afraid that if my dream is realized, I’ll have no reason to go on living. … I’ve already imagined the people who would be at my side, and those in front of me, and the conversations and prayers we would share. But I’m afraid that it would all be a disappointment, so I prefer just to dream about it.'” [The Alchemist]

“It’s not hard to make decisions once you know what your values are.” [Roy Disney]

“I suppose what I wanted back then is what every Christian wants, whether they understand themselves or not. What I wanted was God.” [Blue Like Jazz]

“It was frustrating how when people loved you they took an interest in you and sometimes worried about you and personally cared what you did with yourself. She wished that love were something you could flip on and off. You could turn it on when you felt good about yourself and worthy of it and generous enough to return it. You could flip it off when you needed to hide or self-destruct and had nothing at all to give.” [Sisterhood Everlasting]

Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, ‘I will try again tomorrow.'” [Mary Anne Radmacher]

“This is how it works. I love the people in my life, and I do for my friends whatever they need me to do for them, again and again, as many times as is necessary. For example, in your case, you always forget who you are and how much you’re loved. So what I do for you as your friend is remind you who you are and tell you how much I love you. And this isn’t any kind of burden for me, because I love who you are very much. Every time I remind you, I get to remember with you, which is my pleasure.” [James Lecesne]

“You and I are gonna be okay, you know that, right? We may not be as happy as you always dreamed we would be, but for the first time let’s just allow ourselves to be whatever it is we are and that will be better.” [Garden State]

“There is only one page left to write on. I will fill it with words of only one syllable. I love. I have loved. I will love.” [The Time Traveler’s Wife]

These are good words, because they have helped me remember that I can choose joy. I especially love the final quote. Taken from my favorite book, I’ve copied that quote by hand so many times, carried it with me, and posted it in places to remind myself of the supreme dynamic of my life: Love.

One thought on “Words that are good.

What do you think?

